Monday, January 17, 2011

Getting Closer, Fe Arts Gallery Jan 21 2011

What is the shape of intimacy in the digital age? What are its values? What does it mean to 'connect'?

*GETTING CLOSER* brings together digital artists working with cutting-edge technologies who address connection across physical and metaphorical distances by producing new ways of initiating and exploring intimacy.

((http://gettingcloser.net/)) homepage animation by Nicolas Sassoon

Participating artists include:
Kaja Cxzy Andersen <http://cxzy.biz/>
Zach Blas <http://users.design.ucla.edu/%7Ezblas/>
Petra Cortright <http://www.petracortright.com/>
Francoise Gamma <http://francoisegamma.computersclub.org/>
Alexandra Gorczynski <http://hologramcity.blogspot.com/>
Riley Harmon <http://rileyharmon.com/>
Sara Ludy <http://saraludy.com/> and Nicolas
Sassoon<http://youmakemesohappy.blogspot.com/>
(w/ Krist Wood <http://www.kristwood.com/>)
Rosa Menkman <http://rosa-menkman.blogspot.com/>
A. Bill Miller <http://master-list2000.com/abillmiller/>
Rafael Rozendaal <http://www.newrafael.com/>
Liz Rywelski <http://lizrywelski.com/>
<http://lizrywelski.com/>
Curated by Lindsay Howard


January 21st-March 1st, 2011
Opening: Friday January 21st 7pm-9pm

Presented by Fe Arts Gallery
4102 Butler St, Pittsburgh, PA, 15201

Gallery Hours: Thursday - Saturday 12 - 3 pm


RSVP on Facebook <http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=156445824405130>
...

The Pittsburgh Art Blog

The Pittsburgh Art Blog features selected pittsburgh artists and upcoming exhibits with photos from the artists and galleries. since the major press outlets do not go beyond a directory listing of exhibits, blogs are needed to promote pittsburgh artists and their work. the blog also calls attention to the inferiority complex of pittsburgh art and how it's perpetuated by the major players in town. Started on August 20,2007. pittsburgh area galleries and art venues are listed at the sister site www.PghGalleries.com.

the blog and website are volunteer projects from fine art photographer and pittsburgh artist advocate rick byerly.