adapted from an email i received from an art group:
Emails are being sent out to artists from a Charles Phey with the email academicss001@gmail.com . The subject line will most likely read the name of one of your works and the price. The email that is being sent out reads something like:
"Good day to you out there, My name is Charles Phey, I'm from South Well-fleet, MA. Need some artwork for an exhibition,We have being buying and collating different artwork samples from across the world. why surveying i came through your work, going through it, my eyes caught this particular work, i will like to have it this month.please let me know if the piece is available, if yes let me have the detailed price and more information about it. i will be waiting to read from you. Regards."
Upon following up with this character, they will request you send your work to them and then they will send you a money order. Or they will send you a fake money order for more than the amount and want you to send back the difference. THIS IS FAKE. This spammer has been taking advantage of artists all over the world. If you receive anything from Charles Phey at academicss001@gmail.com DO NOT OPEN IT - send directly to your trash/spam folder.
...
The Pittsburgh Art BlogThe Pittsburgh Art Blog features selected pittsburgh artists and upcoming exhibits with photos from the artists and galleries. since the major press outlets do not go beyond a directory listing of exhibits, blogs are needed to promote pittsburgh artists and their work. the blog also calls attention to the inferiority complex of pittsburgh art and how it's perpetuated by the major players in town. Started on August 20,2007. pittsburgh area galleries and art venues are listed at the sister site www.PghGalleries.com.
the blog and website are volunteer projects from fine art photographer and pittsburgh artist advocate rick byerly.
Thanks for the warning. Charles Phey approached me today for a painting for his new appartment in Hawaii.
ReplyDeleteI was wary as it appeared as scam in my emails.
I shall delete him forever.
Cheers
Mark H Wilson (UK)
Thanks for the warning! Just got an email this morning from this character and when I googled his name, your blog came up! Thanks!
ReplyDeleteglad you both found the info
ReplyDeleterick
I'm in SC and got an email today. Google led me to your blog. Thanks for posting info on this scam. I thought it was a scam and your blog confirms the scam. Thanks.
ReplyDeleteThank you for your posting! I am in PA and was almost scammed by this person as well. I got a little wary, though, when he wanted to pay in cashiers checks so I googled his name and your blog came up. Your warning is very much appreciated!!
ReplyDeleteMarch 2013: He's now calling himself only "Robert" and when I asked for information on him, he said he works for the US ARMY. He didn't seem to understand English well from his responses. The e mail is coming from the name Mark Hallins at academicss001@gmail.com. He's refused to give out his name and contact information. Here is the e-mail I got from him with a title of my painting in the subject line:
ReplyDelete"Hi there,my name is Robert,im from phoenix,was browsing through the internet and my eyes caught this particular work on the subject,will like to have it for my new apartment probably this month.please let me know if the piece is available and if yes let me have the detailed price and more information about it. i will be waiting to read from you.Regards."